Back in the gym, and a creamy snack

14 Mar

Oo lawdy, it had been a while since being in the gym šŸ˜¦ Like, a week. Which is a long time. No wonder I’m getting crampy… Anyway! Today was legs, and all super-sets. Unfortunately, my gym isn’t really set up to accommodate that, but as ever I did the best I could. I admit, I cut it a bit short because of lack of energy and focus. My last post I mentioned how I got up at 4:20, but did not mention that I got to sleep around 11:30-12. Yeeah… I was very pleased when I was checking my form on single leg squats (kill me), and I saw some definition in my leg. What?! With my astronomical body fat percentage, I will be happy with any little line! Let’s make more, eh?

Enough jabber. On with the show (and tell!)

One day, I did a lot of cooking. (I don’t even remember what day o.O Sunday? I think it was Sunday… my life is a blur) I got all of these gorgeous groceries and made a bunch of yummy shiny things. Here are some of them!

image

Orange Roughy broiled with orange juice and slices, peas and cauliflower!

image

Multigrain oats with almond milk, vanilla whey, a dash of cinnamon...

step 2

+ very nearly empty Chocolate Soy Nut Butter jar...

voila! :)

= OMNOMNOMNOMNOM

There was just the very slightest breath of chocolate in my oats and it was heavenly

I <3 asparagus

Talapia (with some chili powder), asparagus, and lemons steamed in a foil pouch in the oven! Brown Jasmine rice with chia seeds on the side.

I work out at night, and because of my acid reflux I cant eat too close to bedtime, so I think casein protein is the best way to go post-workout. Since using it, I have definitely felt more sated and not like a RAVENOUS MONSTER in the morning. However, there is a downside. I hate it. That is, I hate the consistency. As a shake it is nigh unmixable. It just gets all gloopy and gloppy, and blech. I was choking it down. So! I have been trying to see what I can do with Casein protein, and thanks to Anna at ProteinPow.com (who also has a bunch of baking recipes for casein), I have found a quite viable option: Pudding!

still trying...

yeah, I know it looks awkward. This has sliced frozen bananas. The color is cookies and cream

Just take whatever amount of casein you want and mix in nearly boiling water to a pudding consistency. Then stick it in the fridge or freezer for a quick cool down. Now, I haven’t quite gotten a perfectly smooth consistency yet (not really sure how she does it. Hand mixer??) but it is leagues above the shakes in pleasure of consumption. I have been adding frozen fruit (like bananas), sometimes some sweetener and vanilla flavoring. My fave has been adding vanilla and finely shredded coconut! MM!

What is your fave healthy nighttime snack?

4 Responses to “Back in the gym, and a creamy snack”

  1. Alexandra March 14, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

    Oh man now I’m really craving orange roughy haha and yay for casein concoctions! I love Anna’s site, there’s so many amazing recipes on there!
    I think my favorite nighttime snack as of late has been a frozen gloopy mess of cottage cheese, cream cheese, peanut butter, blackberry jelly, and vanilla casein. It’s better than ice cream!! šŸ˜€

    • Kelsey March 14, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

      Seriously, her recipes are endless!! I don’t know how she does it. Casein in cottage cheese… Of course! I will def try it šŸ™‚

  2. Jia March 19, 2012 at 8:41 am #

    Hmmm… I’m not sure about whey and boiling water. Wouldn’t it affect it? I’ve read several articles about ruining the state of the protein when it gets heated.

    I love smoothies before bed time. Whey, milk and fruit! Filling!

  3. Patty March 26, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    Lemon and asapargus with fish sounds like a great and light combo! Definitely perfect for spring! Thanks chica!

Leave a Reply

